Archive for April 6, 2018


H O P I N G



Hoping …




There are times when I find myself in the abyss of lonesome despair,


when all seems empty, when I feel like a husk of a man, when I no longer care.



When the walls close in, around me and around my heart,


when I feel desolate, always separate, and of nothing ever a sliver of a part.



These moments do pass, as all moments must, and yet the void takes far too much time to fill,


an oil tanker spewing poison, a empty cup of tea impossible to refill.



When emotions are dulled, and the purpose of life is mulled, in a haze of self-pity,


when I am sliced and diced by this festering city.



When nothing seems to matter anymore,


when I fall into the cravasess, shredding me to my very core.



These intensely personal feelings are not easy to share,


yet the solace I find in my scribbles, makes the vacuum a bit easier to bear.



So I scribble away, never seeking sympathy, pity, nor friendly hugs or words of solace, however well-meaning they are all,


for I know I shall have to be the one to pick myself up when on this road I fall.



And as I strain my eyes and in the distance a dim light beckons me,


I crawl towards it, my sight blurry, but knowing it is the flame of hope that I see.



My path ahead is littered with thorns, jagged stones and the seemingly impossible obstacles I have to pass,


yet I continue on, towards the light, on my knees bruised, bleeding, cut raw by stinging sharp glass.



I finally stand up, my legs numb, while I drag my wounded form towards the now bright flame of hope,


reaching out to me as I reach out to it, the arduous journey having been a slippery slow slope.



Finally I reach the soft grasses of all-enveloping peace,


breaking free from the shackles, exhausted, though joyous as from the straightjacket I finally find release.



I stand up, no longer scrambling on my knees, seeking respite in the soothing coolness of nature’s breeze,


to feel whole again, under the canopy of the generous, green trees.














A Tribute to Solomon Kalushi Mahlangu.


(Solomon Kalushi Mahlangu (10 July 1956 – 6 April 1979) was a South African operative of the African National Congress (ANC) military wing, Umkhonto we Sizwe (MK). He was convicted of murder by the brutal Apartheid regime. He was executed by hanging in 1979) …




You were the tip of the spear, the pointed tip of Umkhonto-we-Sizwe,

“The Spear of the Nation”.


You held true to your principles,

your values in your struggle against Apartheid racial discrimination and savagery.


The state feared you, and so many like you.


They feared the blazing tip of the spear that would fracture their arrogant, hollow ideology.


You, Comrade Solomon Kalushi Mahlangu, were 23 years of age,

yet decades ahead, a beacon to the indomitable spirit of the revolutionary that you were.


The grotesque Apartheid regime executed you, at 23 years of age.


They could not silence your final words –

“My blood will nourish the tree that will bear the fruits of freedom.


Tell my people that I love them.

They must continue the fight”.


Your paid the ultimate price.


You made the ultimate sacrifice,

so that we who breathe the air of freedom may today and always salute you,

a true martyr to the cause of humanity and dignity and free from the shackles of racism and racial supremacy.


You were a beacon of resistance.


You remain a shining light that shall forever guide us even in the deepest night.


They executed you,

yet they could not,

they cannot,

they will never quell the fire of revolution.


The fire that you held in your heart,

the fire that shall always shine true.



Hamba Kahle*, Comrade!

Amandla! ngAwethu*

Matla ke a Rona!*

The struggles continue!



          _________

Notes:


* – “Hamba Kahle” is an isiZulu and isiXhosa saying that means “farewell”, and was rallying cry in the struggle against Apartheid, when it was put to song and sung at funerals of the martyrs who laid down their lives for the cause of freedom, justice, equality, democracy, and dignity for all.

* – “Amandla Awethu” means power to the people, and was also a rallying cry in the struggle against Apartheid.

* – “Matla ke a Rona”  was a revolutionary slogan that means “Victory is Certain”

      ___________

http://www.sahistory.org.za/people/solomon-kalushi-mahlangu

             _______

https://youtu.be/UpKb9lVsmCE

Apartheid-era Gallows (now a museum as the death penalty has been abolished in South Africa)